How To Properly Delete iPhone Or iPad iMovie Files

Martin Wilson

Aug 02, 2022

I noticed one of the most significant data hogs on my iPhone was iMovie. Check Settings >'' General >'' iPhone Storage to see how your iPhone's storage is allocated. To put it in perspective, a minute of 4K footage takes up about 350MB of storage space on an iPhone 6. Video compressed with H.264 consumes 130MB per minute at a resolution of 1920 x 1080 at 30 frames per second (fps).

iMovie projects that no longer needed to be stored on the iPhone took up a lot of space. However, I don't want to lose the ability to go back and edit previous video projects. Here are a few safe methods to declutter iMovie on your iOS device if it's taking up too much space.

Exporting projects to iCloud

For the most part, when you export an iMovie project, all you get is a video file that you may play or distribute. Sending the entire production to iCloud or iTunes is the secret to being able to go back and modify that video later or just knowing that you can do so.

  • On your iPhone or iPad, open iMovie
  • You may export a project from the Projects view.
  • You'll be presented with the Share to iCloud dialogue box; select iMovie Project from the list.

The project gets uploaded to iCloud in a matter of minutes. Open the iMovie folder on your iCloud Drive in the Finder on your Mac to be sure. Open the project in iMovie on the Mac before deleting it from your device. If it was made with an earlier version of iMovie for iOS, it might not be compatible with the most recent version of iMovie on the Mac.

iTunes Project Export

C:Users15710DesktopMelodyIT   100-IT   100-IT   100图片415. How To Properly Delete iPhone Or iPad iMovie Files2image2.jpg2image2

iTunes exporting the project instead of iCloud avoids a round trip across the internet, which is a plus. It does need a little more effort, though.

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open iMovie
  2. You may export a project from the Projects view.
  3. The iTunes symbol may be found by clicking the Share button and selecting it.
  4. Tap iMovie Project in the Share to the iCloud dialogue box that pops up after you do this.
  5. Connect your iPhone or iPad to your Mac using the USB cable provided.
  6. You may share files by selecting the File Sharing option in the sidebar once you've selected your device from the toolbar in step 6. Click the Apps menu option if you're using an older version of iTunes.
  7. Make sure to choose iMovie from the app list. Under iMovie Documents, you'll find the project, which is identified by its name and the.mov extension.
  8. Drag and drop the file from iTunes to the Finder to copy it to your Mac's hard drive.

There's still one more thing to do. In an "iOS limbo" section of memory, iMovie saves your project when you export it to iTunes for playback on iOS devices. This is a good example. Extra storage space is still needed for the iMovie mobile file on the iPhone or iPad, which is not part of the original project.

How To Remove iMovie Projects On iOS?

How to Edit Videos on Your iPhone or iPad

Deleting the projects is simple. However, you may encounter a snag. Most of the time, you'll use the Camera app to record video and save it to your Camera Roll. In addition, iMovie allows you to record video and still images directly from the application. In prior versions of iMovie, these files were not shared with the Photos library.

iMovie alerts you if this is the case when you try to remove a project. You may delete the media because you've already exported the project and all its video files as described above. However, you may want to keep the clips in your Photos library so that you don't have to search for the iMovie project whenever you want to use them.

  1. Tap Edit in iMovie to open the project.
  2. Add media by pressing the Add (+) button on the toolbar.
  3. Select the Video tab.
  4. Select iMovie Media; these clips are exclusive to the project.
  5. The Edit button is located at the bottom of the screen.
  6. Each clip you want to add to your photo collection may be downloaded by tapping the button.

As long as you've saved the project, all of your clips and edits will be preserved, but you'll only be able to access them from your Photos library. Remember that even when you use this operating system, your iPhone or iPad will still have a significant amount of video files. Congratulations on spotting this. That's correct.


Related Stories

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2023 devehorse.com

Contact us at: [email protected]