How to Remove, Restrict, Or Disable Facebook

Martin Wilson

Jun 28, 2022

Delete your Facebook account used to be a fantasy, but this week's news could change your mind. It was revealed that a Facebook employee mistakenly passed over massive amounts of data to Cambridge Analytics, which then utilized the data to target voters and spread influence in the 2016 presidential election. Because of this, we completely understand if you're reconsidering your account.


Fortunately, you have a variety of possibilities. In the first place, you have the option of controlling who may view what information about your profile on Facebook. As a last resort, you may deactivate or delete your account, both of which can be reversed—and even then, you can change your mind. How it works is explained below in detail.


Facebook Account Restrictions


You might not want to delete your Facebook account for many reasons, but you can still restrict access to it. The simplest solution is to become private. Navigate to the Privacy section of the Settings menu. A drop-down menu appears at the top of the page.


If someone has a Facebook account, they will be able to see anything you publish on your page if the "Who can see your posts" option is set to "public." If you click Edit, you'll have the option of limiting who can see your profile to friends, particular friends, or yourself.


Third-party applications might potentially have limited access to your data. The Apps tab may be found in the Settings menu as well. If you've had an account for a long time, you'll get a list of all the applications linked to your account. In the top right corner of each app, you'll find an "X" that, when clicked, will delete it from your account. If you wish to keep an app, you may restrict its access to your account by clicking on the modify option.


Deactivate Your Facebook Profile


To put Facebook on hold, you must deactivate your account. Your Facebook profile and most posts will be deleted, but messages and other content will remain.


In the event of deactivation, it can be reversed. If you ever decide to return to Facebook, your data will be saved. If you ever want to reactivate your Facebook account, all you have to do is log in. For those who aren't sure if they want to give up Facebook for good, this is a fantastic opportunity to test the waters before making a final choice.


Log out of Facebook to remove your account. The down-arrow symbol at the far right of your Facebook page may be clicked to access the menu. Select General from the list on the left side of the window in the next screen's Settings menu.


Deactivating vs. Deleting a Facebook Account


If you want to go away from Facebook for a while, you have two alternatives. You have the option of deactivating or deleting your account. These aren't the same at all. If you deactivate your Facebook account, you will still be able to access it anytime. If you are the only administrator of your Pages, Facebook will deactivate them.


Even if your name and photo are erased, not all of your information will be concealed. Your messages and friends' names will remain accessible, for example. This includes your data, such as your social media accounts, images, and videos.


Tips for Keeping Your Facebook Account From Being Deleted


Your Facebook profile will be permanently removed from the company's servers if you delete your account. You need to perform a few things before you hit the Delete button. Downloading your data is the first step you should take.


Personal data like messages, Stories, photographs, videos, and more can be found on Facebook if you've been a regular user for a long time. To your relief, Facebook's data download function allows you to save your full Facebook history to your computer.


Next, see which third-party applications are linked to your Facebook account once you've downloaded a copy of your data. Because many applications rely on your Facebook credentials to log in, you'll need a backup method.


How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account Permanently


If you're serious about cutting ties, think about whether or not Facebook contains any information about you that you'd like to preserve. You may have used it as a picture book for your digital photos in the late aughts. You may have communications that you'd like to save. It's possible you had a decent post at some point. If that's the case, please describe your experience!


Go to Settings & Privacy, then Settings from the same downward-arrow symbol you started with. Go to Your Facebook Information in the left-hand window. Click on Transfer a Copy of Your Information, then select one of the nine alternatives from the drop-down menu that appears.


Related Stories

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2023 devehorse.com

Contact us at: [email protected]