Aug 02, 2022
It's possible that using the Refresh Windows utility from Microsoft or removing a recent update can fix an issue that's causing your Windows PC to behave strangely. You may even do your diagnostic tests to ensure that your hard drive is in good condition. It may be time to reset your personal computer to its factory settings if you plan to get rid of your existing machine or if your PC is functioning slowly. The actions outlined here are mostly unaffected by whether you are still using Windows 10 or switched to Windows 11. Depending on your choices, this procedure may delete all of your data and your existing settings; thus, you must back up your information beforehand.
To open the Settings window in Windows 10, click the Start menu and select the gear icon in the bottom left corner of the screen. You may also choose the Settings app from the list of available applications. To begin resetting this computer, go to the Settings menu and choose Update &'' Security >'' Recovery.
To access the Recovery settings in Windows 11, go to the Settings menu and choose System or Settings >'' Windows Updates >'' Advanced options >'' Recovery. Next to the option to Reset this PC, click the Reset PC button.
On either operating system, you have the option to choose "Keep my files," which will delete just the downloaded applications and settings. If you are attempting to roll back an issue, it is suggested that you do this since it will preserve any personal data you have. If the drive can no longer be saved or you want to sell or donate the computer, choose to Remove everything to clear the disc of all of its contents, including any downloaded applications, settings, and personal information.
You need to locate instructions on how to reinstall Windows before you can use the reset button. This option is available when you select Local reinstall. If you want things to go more smoothly, you may grab files straight from Microsoft's servers by selecting Cloud download from the menu. This alternative to booting from a USB stick is designed to be quicker and more dependable than the traditional method, although it requires more than 4 gigabytes of free storage space.
After you have made your decisions, there are a few further options that you may tweak further, depending on what it was that you selected. To examine your options, choose Change settings from the menu on the Additional settings page. If you choose the Keep my files option, the PC's programmes and settings will revert to the state they were in when the computer was first purchased. Disabling the pre-installed programmes from the Restore may modify this behaviour.
If you remove everything from the File menu in Windows, all of your files will be deleted. This is the option that is selected by default, and it is the one that will delete your data the fastest. The fact that such data may be retrieved with the appropriate software makes this method far less secure. You'll need something more robust if you want to make money off the machine.
Make sure that your files are truly rewritten rather than just erased by turning on the option located under the Clean data heading. This will take longer than the option selected by default, but if you have many hours to spare, this is an alternative that is well worth considering. If you have more than one disc installed, you will also have the opportunity to choose whether or not the data on those drives should be removed. If specific settings have been set up via your employment, there is a possibility that another choice for eliminating workplace resources will be available. Before making any changes, ensure you have approval from your company's information technology department.
After making all your selections, you click the Next button, which will cause Windows to produce a screen summarising them. If you choose the option to keep my data, you will see a list of applications that will be deleted after the reset. When you are ready to make a decision, click the Reset button. After a little while, your computer will shut down, restart, and start up again. The task that has to be done has been completed if the computer is going to be thrown away. If this is not the case, login into Windows again and check to see whether or not the items you chose to delete have been removed from the computer. It is now possible to restore your data to the system.